Skip to product information
1 of 1

WAREHOUSE

an-island-far-from-home:-a-completely-heartbreaking-wwii-historical-novel

an-island-far-from-home:-a-completely-heartbreaking-wwii-historical-novel

Regular price $11.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $11.99 USD
Sale Sold out
New Books Mail for $5 per Order.
No Shipping Charges on Magazines or Used Books.
See our Shipping Policy for more detail.
Author(s)/Editor(s): Hewitt, Kate - -

Binding: QUALITY PAPERBACK BOOKS
YearMonthDay of Publication: 20230327
Standardized Book Category: Historical - General
Language: English
Page Count: 00258

Publisher Marketing:

Rosie realised she loved the man standing before her. She wanted to spend the rest of her life with him. And if he were to fall in France, heaven help them both, she knew she would not regret one last night with him...

1941, Canada: When Rosie Lyman and her cousin Violet join the Canadian Women's Army Corps, Rosie is uncertain about leaving her life in Ontario behind and entering a new and challenging world of duty and service.

From the moment Rosie signs up, the intensity of the work pushes all thoughts of home from her mind. And when she is selected for officer training and a placement overseas in London, Rosie finds herself swept up into an exciting world of classified postings she could never have imagined...

When she meets handsome Lieutenant Thomas Crewe, with sparkling blue eyes and a smile like a movie star, Rosie soon finds herself falling in love for the very first time. With precious moments together restricted to weekends on leave, the pair try to steal as much time together as they can.

But when Rosie hears that Thomas's division is flying in the D-Day invasion, she feels like her heart might break. Will he survive the battle? And can she find the strength within herself to go on if he doesn't?

The fifth novel in the page-turning Amherst Island series, set during the Second World War in Canada and England, this gripping and truly unmissable read is perfect for fans of The Orphan Sisters and My Name is Eva.

Readers love Kate Hewitt's Amherst Island series:

"An incredible book... I didn't want to stop reading... I fell in love with the island and everyone there. It's been ages since a book spoke to me as much... It reminds me of the Anne of Green Gables books... or Little House on the Prairie. I cried like a baby several times... One of the best stories I have read." NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

"Simply amazing... Hewitt paints such a vivid picture... I found myself reading it slowly so I could savor everything... I didn't want the story to end... If you love a sweeping historical fiction story with a character you can't help but love, then you definitely will want to start this wonderfully amazing series." Sinfully Wicked Book Reviews ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

"Phenomenal... The descriptions of the landscape and the island are so real... This inspirational historical fiction is a must read." NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

"A tearjerker! The storytelling is wonderful and draws you in. I cried buckets!" Karen_loves_reading ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

This product belongs in the following collections:

Extended search, New books, New fiction, Western and historical novels

View full details