Skip to product information
1 of 1

WAREHOUSE

Glory Be: A Glory Broussard Mystery

Glory Be: A Glory Broussard Mystery

Regular price $26.95 USD
Regular price Sale price $26.95 USD
Sale Sold out
New Books Mail for $5 per Order.
No Shipping Charges on Magazines or Used Books.
See our Shipping Policy for more detail.
Author(s)/Editor(s): Arceneaux, Danielle - -

Binding: HARD COVER BOOKS
YearMonthDay of Publication: 20231003
Standardized Book Category: African American & Black - Mystery & Detective
Language: English
Page Count: 00272

Publisher Marketing: The first in a vivid and charming crime series set in the Louisiana bayou, introducing the hilariously uncensored amateur sleuth Glory Broussard. Perfect for fans of Richard Osman's Thursday Murder Club.

*A New York Times Book Review Best Crime Novel of the Year*
*A Washington Post Best Mystery Novel of the Year*
*Winner of the Mystery Writers of America's Lilian Jackson Braun Memorial Award*

It's a hot and sticky Sunday in Lafayette, Louisiana, and Glory has settled into her usual after-church routine, meeting gamblers at the local coffee shop, where she works as a small-time bookie. Sitting at her corner table, Glory hears that her best friend--a nun beloved by the community--has been found dead in her apartment.

When police declare the mysterious death a suicide, Glory is convinced that there must be more to the story. With her reluctant daughter--who has troubles of her own--in tow, Glory launches a shadow investigation into Lafayette's oil tycoons, church gossips, a rumored voodoo priestess, nosey neighbors, and longtime ne'er-do wells.

As a Black woman of a certain age who grew up in a segregated Louisiana, Glory is used to being minimized and overlooked. But she's determined to make her presence known as the case leads her deep into a web of intrigue she never realized Lafayette could harbor.

Danielle Arcenaux's riveting debut brings forth an unforgettable character that will charm and delight crime fans everywhere and leave them hungry for her next adventure.

This product belongs in the following collections:

Extended search, New books, New fiction, Urban fiction

View full details