Skip to product information
1 of 1

WAREHOUSE

The Girls in the Stilt House

The Girls in the Stilt House

Regular price $16.99 USD
Regular price $0.00 USD Sale price $16.99 USD
Sale Sold out
New Books Mail for $5 per Order.
No Shipping Charges on Magazines or Used Books.
See our Shipping Policy for more detail.
Author(s)/Editor(s): Mustian, Kelly - -

Binding: QUALITY PAPERBACK BOOKS
YearMonthDay of Publication: 20210406
Standardized Book Category: Historical - General
Language: EnglishPage Count: 384

Publisher Marketing:

THE USA TODAY BESTSELLER!

"Remarkable debut.... [a] nearly flawless tale of loss, perseverance and redemption."--Publishers Weekly, STARRED review

Perfect for readers of Where The Crawdads Sing! Set in 1920s Mississippi, this debut Southern novel weaves a beautiful and harrowing story of two teenage girls cast in an unlikely partnership through murder.

Ada promised herself she would never go back to the Trace, to her hard life on the swamp and her harsh father. But now, after running away to Baton Rouge and briefly knowing a different kind of life, she finds herself with nowhere to go but back home. And she knows there will be a price to pay with her father.

Matilda, daughter of a sharecropper, is from the other side of the Trace. Doing what she can to protect her family from the whims and demands of some particularly callous locals is an ongoing struggle. She forms a plan to go north, to pack up the secrets she's holding about her life in the South and hang them on the line for all to see in Ohio.

As the two girls are drawn deeper into a dangerous world of bootleggers and moral corruption, they must come to terms with the complexities of their tenuous bond and a hidden past that links them in ways that could cost them their lives.

This product belongs in the following collections:

Extended search, New books, New fiction, Western and historical novels

View full details