Skip to product information
1 of 1

WAREHOUSE

The Physicists' Daughter

The Physicists' Daughter

Regular price $16.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $16.99 USD
Sale Sold out
New Books Mail for $5 per Order.
No Shipping Charges on Magazines or Used Books.
See our Shipping Policy for more detail.
Author(s)/Editor(s): Evans, Mary Anna - -

Binding: QUALITY PAPERBACK BOOKS
YearMonthDay of Publication: 20220607
Standardized Book Category: Historical - 20th Century - World War II & Holocaust
Language: English
Page Count: 00352

Publisher Marketing:

Perfect for fans of The Alice Network and Kate Quinn, The Physicists' Daughter is "a fascinating and intelligent WWII home front story." --Rhys Bowen, New York Times bestselling author of The Venice Sketchbook.

No one can be trusted. The fate of a country is at stake. And everything depends on the physicists' daughter.

New Orleans, 1944.

Sabotage. That's the word on factory worker Justine Byrne's mind as she is repeatedly called to weld machine parts that keep failing with no clear cause. Could someone inside the secretive Carbon Division be deliberately undermining the factory's Allied war efforts?

Raised by her late parents to think logically, she also can't help wondering just what the oddly shaped carbon gadgets she assembles day after day have to do with the boats the factory builds. When a crane inexplicably crashes to the factory floor, leaving a woman dead, Justine can no longer ignore her nagging fear that German spies are at work within the building, trying to put the factory and its workers out of commission.

Unable to trust anyone--not the charming men vying for her attention, not her unpleasant boss, and not even the women who work beside her--Justine draws on the legacy of her unconventional upbringing to keep her division running and protect her coworkers, her country, and herself from a war that is suddenly very close to home.

This product belongs in the following collections:

Extended search, New books, New fiction, Western and historical novels

View full details