Skip to product information
1 of 1

WAREHOUSE

The Postcard from Italy: Absolutely gripping and heartbreaking WW2 historical fiction

The Postcard from Italy: Absolutely gripping and heartbreaking WW2 historical fiction

Regular price $14.50 USD
Regular price $0.00 USD Sale price $14.50 USD
Sale Sold out
New Books Mail for $5 per Order.
No Shipping Charges on Magazines or Used Books.
See our Shipping Policy for more detail.
Author(s)/Editor(s): Petch, Angela - -

Binding: QUALITY PAPERBACK BOOKS
YearMonthDay of Publication: 20220316
Standardized Book Category: Historical - General
Language: EnglishPage Count: 374

Publisher Marketing:

Italy, 1945. 'Where am I?' The young man wakes, bewildered. He sees olive trees against a bright blue sky. A soft voice soothes him. 'We saw you fall from your plane. The parachute saved you.' He remembers nothing of his life, or the war that has torn the world apart... but where does he belong?

England, present day. Antiques-shop owner Susannah feels adrift. Her beloved father has died, and her grandmother Elsie's memories are disappearing. But everything changes when she stumbles across a yellowed postcard bearing a picture of a beautiful Italian stone farmhouse, tucked away in Elsie's dressing table. A message dated from the Second World War speaks of a secret love. Could her grandmother, who never talked about the past, have fallen for someone in Italy all those years ago?

With Elsie confused and distressed by her questions, heartbroken Susannah tracks down the house on the postcard. Arriving at what is now a crumbling hotel by the sparkling Italian sea, she feels strangely at home. And after an unexpected encounter with handsome wine waiter Giacomo, she can't tell if it's his dark eyes or his offer to help solve her mystery that makes her heart race.

Together they find a dusty chest tucked in a forgotten corner of the building. The white silk of a World War II parachute spills out. And the Royal Air Force identity tag nestled in the folds bears a familiar name...

As a story of lost memories, terrible betrayal and impossible choices unfolds, Susannah comes closer to a devastating wartime secret at the heart of her own family. Did she ever really know her grandmother? And when she finally learns the truth, will it help heal her pain - or tear her apart for good?

An absolutely stunning page-turner that will sweep you away to the olive groves and majestic views of the Italian coast. Perfect for fans of Kathryn Hughes, Fiona Valpy and Victoria Hislop.

Read what everyone's saying about Angela Petch:

'A devastating, beautiful, heartbreaking, compelling and riveting page-turner... I was absolutely shocked by the two big reveals... I did not see them coming!!!... Absolutely fantastic... Will leave you thinking about the story for a long time... I LOVED it' Bookworm86, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Heart-breaking and compelling... A beautiful story, told with such emotion and feeling that it makes you forget where you are and what you are doing!' Stardust Book Reviews, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'I don't even know where to begin... beautiful... I absolutely adored this book... The picture that the author paints is both beautiful and devastating... the descriptions are so detailed, I could actually picture it in my mind.' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Fantastic read... I loved this book... will grab you and hold onto you long after you put it down... an amazing story.' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

This product belongs in the following collections:

Extended search, New books, New fiction, Western and historical novels

View full details