Skip to product information
1 of 1

WAREHOUSE

For Those Who Are Lost

For Those Who Are Lost

Regular price $16.99 USD
Regular price $0.00 USD Sale price $16.99 USD
Sale Sold out
New Books Mail for $5 per Order.
No Shipping Charges on Magazines or Used Books.
See our Shipping Policy for more detail.
Author(s)/Editor(s): Bryan Thomas, Julia - -

Binding: QUALITY PAPERBACK BOOKS
YearMonthDay of Publication: 20220614
Standardized Book Category: Historical - 20th Century - World War II
Language: English
Page Count: 00384

Publisher Marketing:

"A compelling story of love, courage and forgiveness. Highly recommended." --Historical Novel Society

"A sure bet for readers of personal war stories and those who want to know, 'What about the women and children?'" --Booklist

Inspired by true events, For Those Who Are Lost begins on the eve of the Nazi invasion of the island of Guernsey, when terrified parents have a choice to make: send their children alone to England, or keep the family together and risk whatever may come to their villages.

Ava and Joseph Simon reluctantly put their 9-year-old son, Henry, and four-year-old daughter, Catherine, in the care of their son's teacher, who will escort them on a boat to mainland England. Just as the ferry is about to leave, the teacher's sister, Lily appears. The two trade places: Helen doesn't want to leave Guernsey, and Lily is desperate for a fresh start.

Lily is the one who accompanies the children to England, and Lily is the one who lets Henry get on a train by himself, deciding in a split second to take Catherine with her and walk the other way. That split-second decision lingers long after the war ends, impacting the rest of their lives.

Perfect for readers of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society, For Those Who Are Lost is at once heartbreaking, thought-provoking, and uplifting.

This product belongs in the following collections:

Extended search, New books, New fiction, Western and historical novels

View full details